Faculty of Public Health

Education and research

  • the first faculty of Public Health in Hungary was established by the decision of the Hungarian Government on 1st December 2005

  • the Faculty came into existence through the merger of the School of Public Health, the Department of Preventive Medicine, the Department of Family Medicine and the Department of Behavioural Sciences of the University of Debrecen

  • the mission of the Faculty is to

    • improve the health of the population by developing and maintaining high- and internationally recognized quality training programs, complying with the training needs of the public health and health care institutions, both at the graduate and postgraduate level
    • to pursue excellence in research
    • provide consultancy
    • develop and invest in Faculty staff
  • establishment and launching of 5 different postgraduate and one graduate training programs as well as the establishment of a doctoral program were carried out by the teaching staff of the faculty with the effective support of the University of Debrecen and its Medical and Health Science Centre

  • according to the Bologna process, the Faculty has established and  launched its Bachelor and Master training programs (from 2006 and 2007) in the field of public health and health sciences

  • with its 2 Bachelor, 4 Master training programs and 6 postgraduate courses, the Faculty offers a rich variety of learning experience at present

  • two doctoral programs are also available since 2009

  • the Faculty is an internationally recognized workshop of public health research


General Contact Information

Address: 4028 Debrecen, Kassai út 26.
Phone/fax: 460-190, 460-195
Dean:  Dr. Judit Zsuga 
Vices Deans:
General: Dr. Attila Bánfalvi 
Education affairs: Dr. Ilona Veres-Balajti

Student Academic Information
Registrar’s Office
Address: 4028 Debrecen, Kassai út. 26/B
Phone: 06-52/460-190/77420, 77414, 77408
Business hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 9.00-12.30, Tuesday, Thursday: 12.30-16.00
Misc. Academic Information:
Language courses: English, medical English, German, French, Spanish, and additional language courses as determined by the Foreign Language Center of the Faculty of Medicine